Columbia Basin Development League presents Schoesler with award

State Sen. Mark Schoesler, R-Ritzville, has received an award from the Columbia Basin Development League for his longtime legislative efforts on behalf of communities and irrigators in the basin area.

The organization presented Schoesler with its Perseverance Award Tuesday during its 55th annual meeting, held in Moses Lake.

“The league chose Senator Schoesler to receive the Perseverance Award for demonstrating the ability to fight for his constituents and the region, no matter the odds,” said Vicky Scharlau, the CBDL’s executive director. “We appreciate the longstanding commitment Senator Schoesler has provided to his district, especially irrigators and communities desperate for a reliable source of water.”

“I’m very honored to receive this award,” said Schoesler. “For the Columbia Basin to not only survive but thrive, it needs enough water for both communities and an agriculture industry that provides many jobs. That’s why I’ve devoted so much time and energy to finding ways to help this area meet its water needs. With the help of many individuals and organizations like the CBDL, we’ve accomplished quite a bit, but there is more to do.”

Schoesler is the sixth recipient of the award, which was created by the CBDL in 2011. He joins other recent recipients, including former 4th District U.S. Rep. “Doc” Hastings and state Department of Agriculture Director Derek Sandison, who formerly served as director of the state Department of Ecology’s Office of Columbia River.

The Columbia Basin Development League is a nonprofit organization that has supported the Bureau of Reclamation’s Columbia Basin Project and its future development since 1964.

Schoesler represents the 9th Legislative District, which covers all or part of Adams, Asotin, Franklin, Garfield, Spokane and Whitman counties.